Members Only?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Members Only?

• Total voters

mbower

I have to agree with Proud_Poppa_of_2. If I hadn't been able to read the forums before joining, I'm not sure I would have joined. What reason would we not let people read the forums?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MikeyMike

Hi,

I'm a newbie here. I'm about as net literate as it's possible to be. I'm a novice turner and semi-skilled carpenter. I've read through this thread and have two observations to make:

1. The site is a forum. This is where you attract new blood. For this reason, most areas should be visible to all visitors. Closed forums are a waste of bandwidth. People die, lose interst, move on to other things.... Membership wanes and there's no draw to bring in new blood.

I've seen any number of forum sites and brick and mortar clubs close because they restricted themselves to an early grave. You can stay private and secretive, but it's not good practice. The net is for information sharing. After all, how are you going to demonstrate your arcane knowledge of tools, wood, and turning? How are you going to entice the next wave of pen turners to take over the reins when you've spun your last chip into the air?

2. There are valid concerns amongst those members who wish to discuss business practices and procedures. For that reason, they desire privacy.

Snitz Forums support private/invisible forum areas. Perhaps if the business-minded members were provided access to an area to discuss business stuff, everyone could be satisfied.

You hardcore turners have an institutional responsibility to help teach youngsters and unskilled wannabe turners. Not everyone is fortunate enough to live near a club full of turners, let alone a single other turner. The closest club to me is a 90 minute drive (provided traffic is light). I rely on the various woodworking forums to learn new techniques and get ideas for my own projects.

Just my two cents.

jwoodwright