What is your favorite stabilization medium?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

RaisinCain

Hi guys,

I have been going over the archives here and really enjoy your input.

One thing that I have noticed is the variety of stabilizing mediums used; everything from ready-to-go Minwax Hardener to glue+water to acetone+fiberglass. It has really been a great read.

A couple of things that are sometimes missing from these post is (a) the exact recipe and methods you use (including immersion and drying times) and (b) where you get the materials you use.

Could some of you more experienced guys help out a newbie here? Any information you can give is appreciated, and the more detailed the better. I am just getting ready to stabilize my first batch in the next couple of weeks and look forward to your input. I would like to keep the cost down, and at ~$9.00 a pint the Minwax Hardener is seems a bit pricey. Again, any information is appreciated! Thanks!

Dario

I use plexiglass-acetone.

Wasn't impressed with the vacuum method (and it can smell nasty FAST). I will try pressure soon.

My solution was thinner than what I'll try this time. I just soak a few pieces of plexiglass on acetone and shake it a couple times a day. Solution should be thick enough after a week. I tend to put more plexiglass in the jar than needed...then pour out the solution to another container. Later, I'll add more acetone (and maybe more plexiglass) to the original glass jug/jar for the next batch.

penbros

Originally posted by RaisinCain
<br />

A couple of things that are sometimes missing from these post is (a) the exact recipe and methods you use (including immersion and drying times) and (b) where you get the materials you use.

What about measurments

RaisinCain

[quoteWasn't impressed with the vacuum method (and it can smell nasty FAST). I will try pressure soon.
[/quote]