What is your dislikes about pen turning ????

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

7miles

Well I'm still kinda new to this pen turning hobby. I tell you, I really enjoy pretty much everything about it. Except scuffing them brass tubes. I really don't like sanding them tubes.

So how about it, what is your dislikes about pen turning??

Also how do you handle scuffing them tubes?

Dale

cowchaser

I don't like that I can't afford to do whatever I want and lack the knowledge to do most of it.

As far as scuffing the tubes, I just use a piece of plumbers emery paper and scuff half then flip it around and scuff the other half. Takes a whole 30 seconds (well maybe a minute).

mrcook4570

Originally posted by 7miles
Also how do you handle scuffing them tubes?

6x48 Belt sander and old mandrel (with arbor still in place to protect fingers). Just a couple of seconds and three tubes are scuffed.

drawknife

Sand the tubes by sticking them in a drill, spin it with emery cloth, turn it around do the other end.

What I dislike the most is my seeming inability to drill a completely straight hole in the blank.:(

Marc Phillips

I hate click pen kits...
blowup.gif

leehljp

Member Liaison
1. Not enough time to to turn when I want to! :(
2. It is a little like Golf - technique refining gets harder the better you get! [xx(]
3. A few "fly by night" persons who come in to show everyone "how it is done" and actually does it! (Most who think they are going to show off - don't.) [B)]
4. Truly skilled persons who make it look so easy! [}:)]

The real problem that I had to overcome:
5. Changing my focus from "looking forward to the end product" to "enjoying the work."
Truthfully for me early on, I would rush a step here and there to get that beautifully finished pen that only comes with patience, preparation and experience.

thewishman

CA glue splatters all over my hands.

Making that "one last pass" and blowing out a perfect pen.