Turnable or Not?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

scoutharps

Guys, if you haven't guessed it by now, I'm very new at this. It's like crack--one hit and you are an addict! Anyway, while checking my "orchard" today, I realized that the big, thick, got to get it out wild grape vine (or this one may be honeysuckle, they are both out there) is just sitting there, waiting to be hauled off. I'm talking vines up to 2 inches thick here--and certainly over one inch. Hmmmm....I don't have a maple such as Mr Frost's, but would this be possible? And aside from the possible, would it be SAFE?!?!?!? I don't know much about relative hardnesses of different woods, much less vines--and I don't want to have things flying all over with me in the way. Any input?

Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gwilki

Get out of the way, Karl. It's mine. Mine I say. :):):):)

As Karl said, vines are great for pen making. Stay away from poison ivy vine, but I'll be interested in seeing anything you make from grape.

scoutharps

How do I cut, season, etc? I have a vague idea of going out with a hand saw, for foot long or so chunks, but what do I do then to start getting it ready? I'm up for a swap! I'm not sure if you would be getting grape or honeysuckle, at least until it leafs out. The more info I have, the better your chances of getting something you can use!:)

Russianwolf

Originally posted by karlkuehn

Turn 'EM! Vines make nice pens, too!

I'd love to have some old grapevine like that, lemme know if you want to work a trade for some. :)
there not ready yet, but I planted 4 wild grape vines today. :D

But I did get to harvest some Dogwood, Butterfly Bush, Lilac and Plum. Some redbud and wild honeysuckle bush are up for tomorrow.

If it's wood, you can turn it.