Steb Center???

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

iamsam

I read on the boards to use a steb center to turn down deer antlers. What is a steb center, and where can I get one? I'm a novice to the pen turning craft and totallly hooked on it...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tipusnr

A steb center is a like a cup center except the the rim of the circle is serated to bite into the wood. You can find them almost anyplace wood lathes are sold. Woodcraft, Rockler, CSUSA, and PSI all carry them as do many other sites. If you go to the websites for any of the above mentioned companies you can see a picture of them.

Hopefully one of the other member's will be able to post a link directly to the graphic for you as I don't have the time right now.

Good luck.

M

Mudder

Woodcraft sells them if you have one close by. If you are ordering then CSUSA has the better price.

http://woodcraft.com/family.aspx?familyid=5082

J. Fred Muggs

Sam, as you can see from the links posted, the Steb center is rather expensive. As an alternative, consider buying a "dead center", the old style cup center from Sears at $7.99. Grind your own serrations in the edge to provide the bite. The difference is that the Steb has a spring loaded center point which makes production turning without ever turning the lathe off easier. But, I presume, you're not planning to do production antler turning, so why spend $55.00 more than necessary?[:)]

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
A money saving tip I received from another forum.
"Steb" centers are relatively expensive( especially if you buy them at WoodCraft)
Sears sells a "cup" center with M2 for about $8.00.(this is made for the tail stock but is not a live center).
Scallop the "cup" with a round file or Dremel tool and you have saved approximately $30.00
I wish I had seen this before I gave WC my money.[xx(]

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
Originally posted by cteaglesc