Plating Quality

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
First, let me thank everyone who is willing to share their experience. As a beginner, I am striving to turn out a quality project and would like to know how to select high quality parts kits.

As an example,we are making perfume pens for several people and I have found these kits available from three venders: vender A charges $3.95, vender B $4.50 and vender C $6.50.

Am I just seeing a pricing preference or is there a difference in quality?

Thanks,

Bob

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

CaptG

Hi Bob. Check out what plating is offered with the kits. 24k is soft and wears off fast. also the cheapest. Platinum, titanium, enamals, rhodium and so on wear much better and last longer, but are more costly depending on what plating is used. I think CSUSA and Arizona silhouette have explanations on their sites about plating. Must reading. If the plating is the same from stores a,b, and c on the same kit, probably just different profit margins. Hope this helps.

JimGo

Gary gave you good advice; the cost is frequently, at least in part, determined by the plating. There are only three main manufacturers of pen and other related kits - Berea, Craft Supplies USA, and Penn State Industries. Craft Supplies USA only sells direct, IIRC. Penn State has several resellers, but check http://www.woodturningz.com and http://www.pocwoodworking.com for good prices on their kits. There are several resellers of Berea kits, too, including http://www.arizonasilhouette.com and http://www.beartoothwoods.com As Gary said, the differences in price between the vendors simply reflects different profit/cost margins (e.g., their cost to have the kits shipped, facilities space, etc.).