non-wood attempt: advice please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

punkinn

Okay, okay, I have to at least try. I have an acrylic blank, an "Environ" and some Trustone blanks on the way.

So I don't find out what not to do the hard way, could someone give me some basic do's and don'ts for turning that which isn't wood? ;) I'd really appreciate it... I have some MM thingies for plastic and some Hut Ultra Gloss (plastic finish) coming. Please tell me that's all I'll need aside from the plethora of my usual wood finishing supplies...

Do I turn non-wood blanks slower than wood? What about sanding? Start and end with what grits? And this may sound stupid, but I shouldn't need to use CA, should I? I mean there won't be any woodgrain to fill...

Nancy

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimGo

I'm not a pro by any stretch, but I use the same exact tools - I use a round-nose scraper for most of my synthetic blanks, including Trustone. I also don't change the speed of my lathe. You might try the diamond polish...but other than that, it sounds like you're well on your way.

Good luck, and remember, LOTS of pics!!!!!

punkinn

Originally posted by JimGo
<br />I'm not a pro by any stretch, but I use the same exact tools - I use a round-nose scraper for most of my synthetic blanks, including Trustone. I also don't change the speed of my lathe. You might try the diamond polish...but other than that, it sounds like you're well on your way.

Good luck, and remember, LOTS of pics!!!!!

Thanks Jim... I appreciate it! I promise pics! :)

Jim15

Nancy you have everything you need (in my opinon). You don't need CA, I sand just like I do wood incluing the MM then I use plastic polish. i fine Trustone turns easier than some of the harder crosscut wood I've come across.

Dario

Nancy,

I actually modified one parting tool...changed the edge to a bit rounded profile and use that start to finish. Works like a charm [^].