Newbie here with questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

madwood

Hi all, been lurking around for a couple weeks and this place is awesome! As with most rookies at turning I have a ton of questions, but I'll be good and spread them out over a period of time.

First, how many of you folks practiced on "scrap" before actually diving into a pen? And how many blanks were destroyed before you got a usable one?

I ordered a starter kit from PSI, the basic one. Is a pen press going to be a must have? Or is there another way to put everything all together efficiently?

One thing I did find out already...I look at virtually every piece of scrap before I toss it in the shop wood stove. In fact, I've also considered renaming the scrap bin...the potential pen bin. OMG this is gonna be an experience to behold!

This slope is even slipperier than when I started scrolling!

Thanks in advance for any input,

John

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rlharding

John, I have been turning for over 10 years. Mostly bowls and a small number of pens and I still blow out blanks. If you search through some wood turning libraries, including this one, you will find many articles to help you out. I have seen numerous examples of pen presses, I think the simplest was using a drill press. Many of the members of this site also sell pen blanks, often at very, very good prices. Prices that I am sure would be cheaper than buying 2x4s.

Spend some time reading the articles in the library. Welcome.

Armacielli

John,