New to turning, first pen here.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

emccarthy

As the title says, I'm new to turning...I got my first lathe(a Rikon 70-100 mini lathe) this past Saturday(4 days ago) a few tools a couple of pen kits and other sundry items I needed to start. I wont bore all of you with details of the playing around(aka practicing) I did, but instead will show you not only the first pen I've turned, but also the very first 'real' thing I've made with my lathe.

Just a little info: It's a classic american twist style pen. I couldn't tell you the kind of wood it is, but I polished it with micro mesh to 12000 grit and finished it with Mylands High Build Friction Polish.
See if you can find all the flaws! :D

Attachments

• DSC02754.JPG
    DSC02754.JPG
    59.6 KB · Views: 313
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

emccarthy

Hehe, to be honest, I hadn't had much practice at all. Prior to Saturday, I've had absolutly no woodturning experience at all. since then, I've messed around with trying to turn coves and beads on a peice of 2x4 and some poplar I purchased specifically for practicing. besides the pen, I've only practiced on 3 peices of wood...guess I'm getting the feel for it.

There are definitly a couple things I need to work on, such as assembling the tubes into the blanks properly, and comparing measurements between my blanks and the kit, rather than using the bushings alone, I think. The pen looks nice, but the fit and finish leave some to be desired, IMO

RAdams

Banned
What is that? A Pecan half? Or a rose rock or something?

Nice pen! If you don't own them already, A set of calipers will help TONS! Don't do what i did and pay almost $50 for dial calipers at woodcraft..... Look around and you can probably get digital calipers for much less than i paid for my dial.

Daniel