Just wondering????

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Larry in TN

Why is it that all ballpoint and rollerball kits come with black ink but fountain pens come with blue ink? I am fairly new to this business, but I am sure some of you "veterans" know the answer.:confused::confused:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

You can get just about any color you want. As far as what they come with I think depends on where you get the kit. If I remember my old time history, there actually is a historical reason for what color for what documents but I am afraid the memory is slipping. May have to do a google search on that.

Dan Masshardt

I think I've gotten black with some fountain kits but I don't really remember.

For ballpoint pens, black has always been the most universal I think.

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam
Why is it that all ballpoint and rollerball kits come with black ink but fountain pens come with blue ink? I am fairly new to this business, but I am sure some of you "veterans" know the answer.:confused::confused:
Black just happens to be the most common packed with kits from the major suppliers. In fountain pens blue was the most common ink we used when I was young and we used them a lot.

In the early days of copying blue would not copy and so people used black ink for filling out things that needed to be run through the Xerox. I think that is how the tradition of black ballpoint got started, later on Rollerballs just seemed to stick with that even though copiers had advanced.

Just as an aside: Some later copiers wouldn't copy red - our local food pantry still clings to stamping some things in "red" so clients can't copy them. The first day I volunteered there I showed them that red can indeed be copied --- that was 3 years ago and they still tell new volunteers that red won't copy.

Scruffy

WRT red copying..

Back in the dark ages... 80s and 90s.