Help with threading wood barrel

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jcgolov

Hi everyone

I am a novice at pen making, threading and wood turning.

I have tried to make my own kitless pen but my major issue is the threading which causes me a lot of frustration.

I have purchase a 7/16 set of three taps with the relevant die i.e. 7/16 too, for practice as the threads are big enough. I seem to be able to do the female thread but when it comes to the male one, no cigar, a complete mess with the male part that seem to be a tight fit for the hole but not threading in. I have used the relevant drill bit that I have and tried a 3/8 and a 25/64 instead of a U. The A-Z drill bits are in order ☺

On the other hand I have used a male and female 36 TPI hand chaser I got from Ebay and with the help of CA glue etc. (thanks to the posts from members of this community) I have been just a little bit more successful.

What am I doing wrong with this threading process?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

darrin1200

What material are you threading?

Wood will be very difficult to get good threads on. The harder and more dense, the better. The CA will also help.

What may be happening, is that the the wood is compressing while you cut the male thread, then when you remove the die, the wood springs back, essentially not cutting the threads deep enough.

Conventional recomendations, for hole and tenon sizes, will most likely not work. Do a few trials, slighty increasing the diameter of the hole for the tap, and decreasing the diameter of the tenon for the die.

You may have to even run the tap and die a couple of times, coating the threads with a layer if thin CA each time. This may help to compensate for the wood compressing.

Good luck.

Joey-Nieves

Hi everyone

I am a novice at pen making, threading and wood turning.

I have tried to make my own kitless pen but my major issue is the threading which causes me a lot of frustration.