Clip on my baron spins- why, oh why?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

angboy

I have a baron pen I made for myself and I've noticed that the clip part can be spun around the pen. Well not really spun like you can just flick it and it spins wildly, but if I'm just sort of fiddling with it, I can just move the clip around and around on the pen top.

I'm not sure if it's always done this or not- I've been using the pen for several months, but I don't use it daily or anything. I think it's not something brand new though, but for the longest time, I thought that I was just spinning the whole cap and didn't realize that the rest of the cap wasn't moving and the clip was[:0][:0]. I know- [V]stupid, [xx(]stupid, [B)]stupid... especially on a pen where the cap is screwed on!

Anyway, anyone else have this happen and anyone have any idea why it might do this? Did I not push all of the pieces on that end of the cap together tight enough?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
Put in in the press and see if a little pressure improves it.
If it does you have a choice.
Dismantle the top and put a DROP of glue in the tube and re-press the finial in.
Let it cure for at least 24 hours to air out if you use CA,(The components will discolor when the are installed if the CA fumes do not air out(DAMHIKT).
Your other option is to repress it every once in a while.
Normally the manufacturer is blames for this(poor tolerences etc...)
I believe it comes from being in a hurry when using the pen mill and the end of the tube gets reamed out a little.

Randy_

Loctite and epoxy are the other 2 adhesives commonly used to solve this problem. To the best of my knowledge, neither has been reported to cause problems with discoloration of the hardware or the finished barrels.

chigdon