Casein- are these air holes?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

eliasbboy

This is my first time turning casein. Okay, second if you include the cracked blank from drilling too fast, but I digress.

I am trying to make a cape for a Jr. Gent, and this is the second attempt, cut from a different blank than the first. I did not get pics of the first, but there were WAAAY more holes.

This second blank was hole free until I got farther into the blank.

Is this normal? I did a search and read a dozen threads about casein but they all dealt with chip out from tools not being sharp.

I can shave my legs with my skew. I'm OCD with sharpening. I went as slow as possible. I could have sanded with MM and made faster progress.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

5CDD8A49-7B1B-44CA-8CF5-208F3F746F4A-2618-0000038B2724973A.jpg

C5009E7D-0CD2-47C1-86C1-5375533406DE-2618-0000038B2111C7AF.jpg

6168CB34-123D-40B2-A5FD-83E293225056-2618-0000038B1A9A2171.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

OKLAHOMAN

First are these Casein or alternative Casein, the lines look too straight to be Casein, which would mean that when in it was made it being a resin those are holes from the manufacturing.

eliasbboy

First are these Casein or alternative Casein, the lines look too straight to be Casein, which would mean that when in it was made it being a resin those are holes from the manufacturing.

I believe it's regular casein. I ordered some form CSUSA and Penn State. I'm in the garage now working, turning a THIRD blank for a different pen and I'm getting the same thing.

Last edited:

eliasbboy

I just came in to look up my order info, and nothing says "alternative".

The description reads "Casein naturally derived from milk proteins".

plano_harry

Certainly look like air holes. I posted a couple of months ago about tiny pinholes in real casein that are dark once they get any sanding dust or CA inside. Did not have a problem with alt casein.

OKLAHOMAN