Black Palm KA-Pow

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ryjonesacct

Hey so I am very new to pen turning and I have been trying different types of wood to try and the other day I tried out some Black Palm. I cut it is half and then the first one drilling it out popped and split. So I was more careful on the second half and drilled it out ok, but then as I started to rough it round it popped and split on one side as well. Any tips on working with this? I saw on bad dog burl source he has some stabilized black palm blanks and thought maybe those would work better.

Also has anyone ever tried gluing something like that back together and try turning it again? What do you think?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

InvisibleMan

you've picked the most difficult wood in the world in my opinion. I would seriously consider turning a different wood - any wood - to start. Then, once you're happy with the process and results, get more palm and blow it up again:biggrin:

Palm is evil. It has to do with the grain structure I think. It is like compressed grass or something. My first peppermill attempt was palm. Half of the mill flew off the lathe and hit me square in the forehead/eye. Luckily, I was wearing safety goggles, and had no real damage, but it did have me considering my long term viability for a few seconds. I wear a full face shield whenever I'm turning now:eek:

Last edited:

jcm71

Black Palm and Red Palm can be tricky. First, make sure your tube is 100% covered in glue before inserting it in the blank. I use a small piece of craft foam to do this on all my pens. 2nd: After you square the blank, seal the ends with thin CA. It will soak down into the blank and strengthen it. Be careful to keep glue out of the inside of the tube. 3rd: Sharp chisels and turn at as high a speed as you are comfortable. I turn at 4000 RPM. 4th: Light touch. Don't be in a hurry. Hope this helps.

ryjonesacct