Aluminum Cans and Metal Lathe/tools

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RSidetrack

Okay - so I have this segmenting idea I want to do but wanted to get an opinion. I want to segment with a layer of aluminum in between the segments. I figured since I have tons of aluminum cans that is where I can get the metal from, but I have never done anything with metal before so was wondering if this would destroy my tools? I know it is a thin soft metal but just wasn't sure if this would be okay.

Thanks guys!

Edit: Realized that I said Metal tools - I meant wood tools.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

The Penguin

I used regular tools to turn down brass nuts to use a ferrules on tool handles...thin aluminum strips - no problem.

weasel1219

There have been no problems when I use aluminum cans and I have used double layers and they still work fine with no added stress on the tools. Sharp tools are the main ingredient in any wood turning project...

RSidetrack

Thanks everyone - I can't wait to get this project started. I am working with a patriotic theme and getting a couple ready for a 4th of July fundraiser.

RSidetrack

There have been no problems when I use aluminum cans and I have used double layers and they still work fine with no added stress on the tools. Sharp tools are the main ingredient in any wood turning project...
I agree - this is why my grinder is right next to me :wink: However, I am sure they will dull a little faster, but as long as they don't get ruined that is all that matters :biggrin:

PTsideshow

Both the insides and out sides of the can have a tough epoxy coating on them the inside to prevent a metallic taste. And the outside to prevent the removal of the printing cheaper brands and then reprinting of say coke on the outside. They were bootlegging them a number of years ago both soft drinks and beer.

Only really aggressive solvents will remove them, sanding is better as no sludge or other nasties or fumes to deal with.
:clown: