First Kitless with 1st Cast.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from BSea

BSea

Well, this was a big learning experience. But really fun. 1st let me say that I've been casting for a few months now, but I saved 2 blanks from my 1st cast to use on my 1st kitless pen. I actually like the blanks even though they are pretty vanilla, and didn't turn out like I originally planned. Seems like many of my cast are like that though:rolleyes:.

I bought the triple start 12 mm tap & die from the last group buy for these. And even though I had only used a tap & die a few times, These gave me no trouble at all. However, the same wasn't true for cutting the male threads for the nib holder. I bought a cheap harbor freight tap & die set. I'm not knocking the set. I'm sure it's fine for many things. But the closest size to what I needed was 10mm X 1.25. These threads are way to course to use with PR. I tried at least a dozen times, but they always broke. I came close once, but just that one time. I would have started over, but I had only 2 blanks from the 1st cast, and I had already threaded the body for the holder, so I was kind of stuck. I have since ordered some black lucite to make the holder. But in the meantime, I made a temporary one using clear acrylic rod. It threads fine, but has a very low melting point, and was kinda a pain to turn & drill. I reverse painted it black, and it looks ok (worse in the pictures), but not something that's going to be permanent with this pen.

I also ordered the correct taps & dies, so I hopefully won't have this big of a problem in the future. So much for the story. Here are some pics.

Kitless1A.jpg

This uses a roller writer nib. I think this will be my desk pen for awhile to see if I like it or not.

Kitless1B.jpg

Kitless1c.jpg

Notice the clear acrylic nib holder and the course threads.

Kitless1d.jpg

I added this picture to give the pen some scale. It's basically the same size as a Jr. Gent II (Or in this case a Retro).