First few Pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from kglass

kglass

:)Hi Everyone,
Just started turning Pens a few weeks ago or so. Gathering material was a learning experience. The bushings thing seems cumbersome at best. I am turning on a powermatic 3520B and have been woodturning HF's, bowls, Vases, platters , etc for several years. This is my first attempt at Pen turning and I think it could become an addiction as most wood turning is. The site is a huge source of info and I will use it extensively. Here are a few of my first attempts. There are several wood species including: Bethlehem Olive Wood, Cocobolo, Buckeye Burl, White and Black Ebony, White Oak Burl and a Vietnam Service Metal inlay in a Manhattan Pen Kit with curly Maple. I had a brainstorm (which doesn't happen often) and decided to make a Pen Stand from a Maple Burl Cap I had in the shop.
Your comments and critiques are welcome.:)

I posted this on the Pen Making forum, but was told this is a better place to post it, so here it is....

Attachments

• DSCF3473.jpg
    DSCF3473.jpg
    332.2 KB · Views: 229
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Old Codger

Ken...Very nice turning and finish on your pens. I REALLY like your idea of using a pinned burl as a display stand and think it's the perfect display for such nice pens!
Thanks for sharing and safe turning to you!

OZturner

Ken, Nice display stand.
I would have liked to see your pens, but it is near impossible with the photograph. Your list of materials used is most interesting.
As a suggestion why not pick one or two and photograph them alone so that we can view, and comment?
Regards,
Brian

Ambidex

I like your pens, especially the buckeye burl. Am I the only one thinking that the display may have some extraordinary blanks inside?:wink: It is a nice display but I agree with Brian it's a distraction and makes it hard to really see the pens.

kglass