First couple of pens and a issue

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from BeeAMaker

BeeAMaker

HI!
Been a while since I turned and first time making pens. I'm an EE by trade but have done a lot of wood work growing up and in my youth.

I got a new midi lathe and some basic pen kits to start with, so here it goes;

First Pen,
pen01.jpg

Second Pen,
pen02.jpg

Now for my issue,
issue.jpg

I had the right most chrome bushing seize up on the mandrel, basically welded itself to the shaft. I had to use a die cutter and cut the bushing off of the mandrel.

Has anyone had that happen? is it fairly common? I think maybe some sand paper grit got under it some how, maybe?? Not sure when it happened but I wonder if it was during when I was polishing it, I had the RPMs up to about 3K. Was that too fast maybe? The mandrel was tight (too tight?) so I don't see how anything got underneath it. I was using a Mandrel saver, not the knurled nut.

Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
I don't remember reading about that happening but I am sure it has. AS an EE, you are used to exacting standards. it works better to use calipers to measure the diameters rather than turning to the bushing size. Bushing sizes change every time they are nicked or sanded. Bushings should be considered as "consumables."

I know you aren't there just yet but another way to avoid the problem of stuck bushings is to use the "TBC" or turning between centers where bushings are used to get the blank round and then removed. Sizing is done by caliper measurements.

Some people love it, some hate it. Just throwing this out there for your information.

Last edited:

Skie_M