CA turns finished wooden pen red

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Marcus

Greetings from Florida,
I have been turning pens for about 2 years and using CA as the final coat. I've noticed that if I use a spot touch up finishing pen to augment the color, the barrel will turn red when I apply the CA. Is there any way I can do this without having the CA interact with the finish imparted by the touch-up pen?
Thanks,
Marcus

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
What wood are you using?

1. Many pen blank sellers (of wood blanks) will wet the blanks before taking a picture as it brings out the colors much better than just being dry sanded. CA can and will do the same to some woods. Red and brown woods pop out the most when wet or CA'ed.

2. But for some reason that does not sound exactly like your problem. IS it everywhere that CA touches or just in spots? What finish are you using before applying CA as the final coat?

3. Do you have a picture of it?

KenB259

Greetings from Florida,
I have been turning pens for about 2 years and using CA as the final coat. I've noticed that if I use a spot touch up finishing pen to augment the color, the barrel will turn red when I apply the CA. Is there any way I can do this without having the CA interact with the finish imparted by the touch-up pen?
Thanks,
Marcus
What is the "spot touch up finishing pen", that you referred to? Can you supply a picture of it. I ask because I've never heard of such a thing.

jttheclockman

yes we need more info and or photos. have no idea what you are doing. What is the blank and why would CA turn something red? If it is interacting with CA then it is not compatible. Many paints are not compatible to be top coated with CA.

Marcus