Swirled Resin

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

cozee

Took a bit of time to play around with an idea I had about swirling resins. This one is no more than a poured casting. No other method was used to create a swirl or blend other than the way it was poured. I want to try a few more things before I share how I did it. I was told this one looks like fire.

20076343015_fire.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cozee

Automotive paint: PPG Concept DBC (red) and DCC (yellow) and the resin was from Mr Fiberglass.

kf4knf

So how was this cast? Was it in a PVC tube or a square container? I am still new to custom casting so I am trying to get the feel for what works and doesnt work.

Thanks for the paint info Greg. [:)]

-Steve-

cozee

It was cast into a pvc tube cut to produce a full length blank. I prefer round pvc molds as they serve three purposes for me.

1. I can cut them so as to produce a full length blank. The ice cube mold which are popular require using two blanks to make a pen other than the single shorter barrel pens like a Polaris or Sierra.

2. They are round. Square molds produce more waste. It is also easier to turn when beginning with a round blank as opposed to a square one.

3. PVC tubing is cheap!! I can go to one of the Big Boxes and get 10'of schedule 20 or 40 for a few bucks and cut more than enough molds.

I use auotmotive paints simply because I have a good supply of it. I am going to be experimenting with custom colors and effects paints over the summer.

Do a search here on casting and you'll find a wealth of information.

Tanner

Looks good, I've played with how to get bigger swirls and just alternating colors a few times during the pouring, with no dragging of a stick or anything seems to work OK.

Tanner

How do you do that? Are you ambidextrous?[:D] I tried that and the cup in my left hand kept missing the mold.[B)] I have looked around for cups that are split in the middle to no avail.

cozee