pendant hole help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from RAdams

RAdams

Banned
About one out of every three or so pendants i do, i end up blowing the whole thing out trying to make the hole. It doesn't seem to happen as bad, or often when i make them out of wood. The PR ends up catching, and the gouge bounces all the way across the face of the piece.

I see some really nice ?tie holes? on the pendants here. How do you guys cut your holes out?

I have considered using some 1/4 inch round HSS stock i have hiding somewhere and making a mini round nose scraper just for this job. I like the look of the hole being turned as opposed to drilled.

Any thoughts, and, or help would be greatly appreciated! I am about tired throwing pendants in my junk PR box.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alphageek

Former Moderator
Well ---- I am no expert yet... I've done a few and have used my skew in 'scraper' position working into the hole to smooth it into that shape... I'd love to see others opinions.

el_d

I've done about 20 out of PR and use a drill bit on the lathe then use the skew to "round over" the hole made by the bit. The bits have to be sharp and I go slow.

sailing_away

I put the backer plate on the offset hole and use a pencil to draw a line where the hole will be. After I'm satisfied with the look, I unscrew the backer off the lathe and quickly drill a hole with the drill press. Then back on the lathe for rounding off the edges. Very quick process. I have in the past cut the holes with the skew but I find it is much faster to drill the hole then finish it off on the lathe.

RAdams

Banned