Patch job

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from JimGo

Status
Not open for further replies.

JimGo

This is a close-up of my first Cedar pen. Both halves split on me while I was turning them, but I glued them together. With a little sawdust in the gaps, it came out pretty good. It actually gives the pen some more character. If you've never turned cedar, it smells great, and it has some great figuring too.

Cedar.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimGo

Part of a random set of blanks I bought on eBay. Since I'm just starting out, I bought a bunch of stuff, figuring if I split it or whatever, it wouldn't be a big dea. Turned out that the box had a pice of BOW, several more cedars, what looks to be Blackwood or Ebony, and a bunch of other, random stuff. But most of it was pretty nice!

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
Jim,
I'm with you, I really like the cedar. My brother gave me a bunch of cedar from some trees that were felled in an ice storm at his place in Arkansas. It does take some work, but the results are worth it. Keep up the good work!

jkirkb94

Nice looking pen, Jim! I have had similar problems with splitting.[:(] Just cut some blanks today and hope to turn another cedar pen in the near future. Kirk[8D]

JimGo

Thanks guys! Lou, as you'll see on Thursday, the crack is more noticeable in person. If you look carefully just below the area where the flash reflects off the pen, the crack in the lower barrel starts near the center band and wraps back to the left, near the tip. I was just happy to save it!

JimGo