My First Knife - The Stubby Skinner

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Justturnin

Justturnin

Well, I doubt my mistake...er...um......design is anything revolutionary but I'm happy with the final result.

This is my first attempt at a knife. I cut the blade out of a 10" TS blade. I think I went through all of the steps to get it right but who knows. It was more of a test run all the way around. The blade was about 1" longer but I broke it after I forged it, don't ask. The handle is Stabilized (by me) Texas Pecan Burl finished w/ BLO. I filled the cracks as best I could with Crushed Turqouise, I wish I would have filled them w/ instant coffee. Then there's the Pins. They are swapped, the one w/ the hole for the leather strap should be in back:blush:. I didn't have the correct bits for the pins so they are a bit large. I used Perma-Blu on the steel the darken it.

All and all I am very happy with it and learned so much during this. I doubt this will be my last knife. I just need to build a forge now for tempering.

This bad boy is scary sharp right now. I may go cut some wood to bring it down a notch.

C&C always welcome.

IMG_2411.JPG

IMG_2412.JPG

IMG_2414.JPG

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

frank123

Nice first. Looks far better than my first did, I especially like the way you did the handle.

When you get your forge built for heat treating (it's actually fairly easy) I suggest you get some heat treating tool wrap (aka heat treat foil) to wrap the blade in while heat treating it. You'll save a great deal of scale removal and polishing with it, some steels can be brought to a good polish and retain it if you use the wrap to keep the air off the hot steel with little needed to bring back the polish afterwards. (be sure to take it off -without burning yourself- prior to quenching if you are using a liquid quench to avoid a potentially dangerous condition)

Drstrangefart