First bowl attempt

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from ToddMR

ToddMR

Well this is my first try at a bowl. I had many challenges. I do have a couple bowl scrapers, but my biggest challenge was being able to keep the straight tool rest close enough to the inside. An S shaped tool rest is in my near future I think. My dad had given me a box of cedar scraps about 1 month ago. This was from 3 pieces he had glued together. This bowl is pretty small being 2.5 inches wide and just about 2 inches deep. It is just under 9 inches in diameter. I did dry sanding from 220 grit up to 600. I then used HUT crystal coat and then HUT perfect polish wax bars to finish it. I cut off the bottom that was attached to the plate on the band saw and finished it the same way. I figured this will sit on my desk at work to toss little things into such as paperclips etc. Thanks for looking!

158811-438x.jpg
158812-438x.jpg
158813-438x.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wizard

WOW !! That's a beautiful bowl. Even more awesome enough that you did it for first try and without an S shaped tool rest ! Good job Todd , Doc

Kalai

Hi Todd, looks good to me, for your first bowl it looks great, I still have my first bowl but I don't like to show people, it is not like the bowls I make now, now you need to make a bunch more bowls. A true turner will keep turning and never get dizzy :)
Aloha.

Chris "Kalai"

Skye

Not bad at all for a first bowl! I like that catch mark on the inside, heheh, that's when you say "Oooooookay, maybe it's thin enough and I should stop before I blow it up."

animefan

Hey that is a great looking first attempt at a bowl. The catch is an interesting touch. Bowls can be a lot of fun and they are a challenge so keep up the good work. I'm looking forward to seeing more interesting pieces from your shop.

latelearner

That's a good looking bowl for your first attempt. I would have to count the pieces in the trash and on the floor to show my first bowl.:biggrin: