Beginners Help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ric

I am a recently new member, & a bit of a "newbie" when it comes to these types of sites. What I think I may require is some basic information of how to navigate this site.
I have a billion questions I wish to ask, however I don;t know where I need to go to ask them....Heck, I don't even know if this is the right place to start....
HELP!:confused:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jack Parker

Ric, as a relative newbie myself (1 and 1/2 years), I am probably not the best to answer your questions but I am sure that others will chime in. I started by checking out the great information in the Library and lurking in the Forums. There is a ton of information here, and a bunch of folks that are not shy about sharing information ;) Welcome, and enjoy!!

magpens

Welcome, Ric, from a "near" neighbour (Canadian spelling, eh ?)

You might want to start by posting a very short message (just like the one you wrote above) in the forum called "Introductions" ... that's how most people introduce themselves.

But then I doesn't really matter ... you've already done that in this forum, or maybe you did that when you joined in February last year.

I'll bet the subject of "Pen Turning" is on your mind .... so there is a forum called "Pen Turning" .... you can ask your questions there.

Beyond that, just wing it !! You'll find your way around, and you'll feel right at home really quickly !

You won't need any lessons in navigating this site, really. You'll get the hang of it without much effort at all.

There is a member named Edohmann who kinda "looks after" new members. He'll certainly give you a warm welcome.

So what's your first question ? Well, I'll ask one ... do you have a lathe yet ? You probably do since you've been here for a year and a half. So what lathe do you have, and what tools do you use ? Where do you buy your "stuff" ? Do you know about penblanks.ca ?

Last edited:

dthayer

Welcome Ric!