Band Saw Sled

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

tipusnr

I want to make a sled for my band saw for cutting pen blanks (both vertically and horizontally). I have read a lot of postings and tutorials but there is something I am still unsure of. How do you account for blade drift?

I am getting a replacement guide bar from Delta for the underside runner. If I attach this at right angles to the back of the sled bed will it run true to the blade? Or do I need to draw a right angle line on the bed, try to cut along it angling it to match blade drift, and then try to attach the guide on a parallel line? Additionally, if the second method is correct how do I account for the fact that (I read) each blade has it's own amount of drift?

Am I overthinking this? As you can tell I am relatively new to bandsaws. But I want to be able to use the sled (along with a triangle jig with hold downs) to cut fairly small (and thin) pieces for my pen blanks. One idea is to cut green and gold lengthwise slices of the acrylic blanks to sandwich in pens to have a "Packer" stripe running down the length of their birthday pens.

P.S. The reason I ordered the runner was that ripping a wood runner that small on my table saw was not worth the less than $5 of the part.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Daniel

Bill,
The way I have always ripped on a band saw is to clamp a fence on the table.
I start cutting the material (to determin the direction the blade is actually going to cut) and then align the fence to the edge of the material and then I will get a straight rip on the material. this does not work well for material of varying thickness as the blade will deflect more as the material gets thicker. from how I understand it to use a sled you need a blade sturdy enough to eliminate the wondering. my saw can only hande a 1/2 inch blade which isn't big enough for really thick wood. bottom line if you use a sled your blade needs to cut straight.

tipusnr