Eight miles from Mexico, and lost!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

allen_m

An introduction...

First, let me say I have never used a lathe or made a pen in my life. I have USED many pens! :) I am handy with tools; having restored a few vintage motorcycles; but, otherwise a complete newbie.

Specifically, I would like to learn to make fountain pens, including pen bodies made from aluminum, as well as closed end pens with threads cut directly in the cap and body material…

As such, I have chosen a lathe I feel may be suitable, the HiTorque 7x12 from LittleMachineShop.com… http://littlemachineshop.com/4100 (It is a variant of the SIEG SC2)

This lathe cuts threads down to 4 tpi which I am guessing may be helpful… Not sure if it is possible on this equipment; but, I'd like to eventually be able to cut multi-lead threads, too. Being full of motorcycles, the shop has definite space limitations; so, bigger may not be better for me; moreover, as a newbie, I don't want to go too crazy in terms of spending until I verify that I have the knack for actually doing this type of work.

Surely, I would learn on a large variety of materials without attempting the more difficult materials first. I am a bit impatient; but, have a lot of time on my hands.

Not knowing much about all of this, I would be grateful if anyone would be willing to share their expertise…

First, Is this a suitable choice for a lathe? If not, what alternative would be more suitable? When turning wood (or acrylic, etc…) on a metal lathe, do you replace the tool post with a rest for hand tools?

What is the best available guide for learning? I have seen numerous DVD's etc.

On a completely un-related topic, I have an Omas Marconi rollerball (well used..!) with damage to the cap that neither Omas nor the Fountain Pen Hospital can repair… Photo below- cap is chipped…
Is it hopeless, or can this type of damage be repaired?
Omas.png

Thanks in advance,

-Allen M.
Bisbee, AZ

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad