Noob Needing Help Tooling Up!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

McBryde

Hello all,

I am a total noob when it comes to turning pens, I'll be the first to admit it, so that is why I am diving in here. I have had a want to for some time now to turn pens, as I have access to quite a few antlers, and have wanted to use them to make pens, as well as some other woods I have seen. Anyway, I am needing help tooling up for that great feat.

The other day, why I was out at the local pawn shop, I saw a mini lathe, and bought it. Not sure if I got hurt on the price, but I do know that I am going to need some parts to be able to turn pens. That is where ya'll come in to help me out hopefully. I have taken some pics of the lathe, and need your input of what all I need to be able to go from the shaft that I have, to a chuck, or mandrel, or whatever it is that I can turn pens on.

This is the only piece of equipment I have at this time, so any help steering me in the right direction gearing up would be much appreciated. I'd really like to know what types of tools are required and which ones can be done without, because I'm a broke teacher, lol.

Thanks in advance,

Emerson

100_2659.jpg

100_2657.jpg

100_2661.jpg

100_2660.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Obviously, it is a threaded shaft.

Is there a hole in it? If it is solid, you have a few challenges ahead. I will wait and see if someone KNOWS what to do for you, otherwise I will be throwing darts at answers.

gvanweerd

You know, if you can get a drill chuck on that, you might have somthing there! you'll be able to hold a mandrel.
7848-E.jpg

Last edited:

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member