New addition to my shop

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rmartin

A few weeks ago on a rainy Saturday afternoon, I decided to make a storage bin for my turning blanks. One scrape piece of plywood and two hours later I had it mounted to my shop wall. Last week I noticed some bits of moss and grass on the bench top under my new turning blank bin. It was then that I noticed more bits sticking out of one of the bins. I had to get on a chair to see the birds nest. Today, I checked again, and it looks like I'm going to have 5 additions to my shop.

Attachments

• bin.jpg
    bin.jpg
    90.9 KB · Views: 406
  • nest.jpg
    nest.jpg
    96.9 KB · Views: 364
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
You built this in two hours ? It would take me two DAYS to lay it out ! That's a very nice bin . Now , is your shop outdoors ? I can't believe the things I'm STILL learning here on the IAP . :good:

Rmartin

You built this in two hours ? It would take me two DAYS to lay it out ! That's a very nice bin .

Thanks, yeah about 2 hours, maybe less. It's really just a collection of boxes held together at an angle with a 1 x 2 on each side. I did have to cut a beveled piece to be able to screw it to the wall. I may add some trim to dress it up, but for now, it serves mine and the birds purposes.

Now , is your shop outdoors ?

My shop is behind my house in a 100 year old barn/stables which I have been converting into a wookshop. I'm kinda out in the country, locks and such are not really needed, so I've framed a double door opening in the back, but I haven't added the doors yet.:biggrin:

nava1uni

I really like the bin and I like that you are leaving the bird's nest alone and giving the bird the opportunity to raise its young. The eggs are beautiful, what kind of bird made this nest.
It would take me longer then 2 days to make the bins. You do nice work.

cnirenberg