Constant's test blank - Stabilized Buckeye Burl

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Emaxx3

I figured I would "borrow" this format as it seems easy to follow.

Constant sent me a couple blanks to test: Stabilized Buckeye Burl - Natural & Red

For the record, I am a novice turner. Only been turning for a little while and have done some PR blanks (from Exotic), Woodcraft's acrylic blanks, and a lot of different exotic woods. This is my first experience with stabilized wood.

Out of the package: very nice, very square.

Cutting the blank: I use a bandsaw to cut the blanks and didn't feel much difference between these blanks and acrylic and wood blanks. For the record, I prepped some acrylic blanks from Woodcraft, some purple heart and the test blanks from Constant.

Drilling: easier than the acrylic, the waste was almost powdery (like saw dust). Since I have never turned a stabilized wood before, my expectations were that the blank would be more acrylic like than wood - not the case here. Minor pitting and voids in the drilled holes. Filled with CA and re-drilled later. I used 5 min epoxy to glue the tubes.

Trimming: used a barrel trimmer in a jacobs chuck on the lathe. This is my new favorite way of trimming blanks. The blanks trimmed up nicely... more acrylic like than the PH. I noticed some small voids in the wood and a large crack on the red one. I filled them with CA and allowed them to set.

Turning: I started with a natural colored blanks and started with the roughing gouge. (I turned an acrylic and PH blank first to sense the difference). First few passes to knock off the edges and away I went. Turned like wood... very fast. I was able to get it to shape and final size quickly... didn't even need to use the skew. I used my normal wood finish (CA and BLO).