Turncrafter Commander.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

USAFVET98

I am by no means an expert on lathes but I can tell you the pro's and con's from what I do know.

My girlfriend got her tax return and wanted to do something nice for me and she knew I was looking at this lathe so she told me to order it.

I turned a few pens on it and I will list pros and cons below but first I have to mention my Skew dilemma. The lathe I have been using is a small grizzly mini lathe. On the fasted speed I still was unable to use a skew chisel so I gave up thinking it was my technique. WRONG! I tried it out on the turncrafter at 3500 rpm and it cut like butter! Here is my review:

Pro's:

1. Auto variable speed (much better than manually changing the belt)
  2. Digital readout (takes away the guessing)
  3. More control when turning
  4. Comes with 2 tool rests one longer than the other
  5. Attached tool caddy (comes in handy)
  6. Attached work-light helps for a better view of workpiece
  7. Heavy-duty which ads stability
  8. Easy access to belt as well as other parts for maintenance +++++++++
Con's

1. When turning I notice a clicking so I blew into the motor and it stopped which tells me that the motor is in such a position where debris easily falls in. I'll just keep an eye on it and blow it out after turning.
  2. Thats all I could think of.

Overall, I love this lathe. Very happy with the purchase and when I called PSI I asked for a coupon code and she gave me one for $30.00 off plus I had a $50.00 gift-card so I was able to save her $80.00.

tclathe.jpg

TOTAL REGULAR PRICE: $339.95

Specification Description

Horsepower:
3/4HP
Material Type:
Cast Iron
Brand:
Turncrafter Commander
Volts:
110V
Footprint:
31 x 7-1/4
Pulley Steps:
Speed (RPM):
500-3800RPM
Headstock Thread:
1" x 8tpi
Headstock Taper:
#2MT
Tailstock Taper:
#2MT
Distance between Centers:
18"
Swing over Bed:
10"
Tool Post Diameter:
5/8"
Extension Bed Available:
Y

Last edited: