Starter Lathe?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sleevecc

Do you guys find this to be a good deal for $200 for a starter lathe for myself?

Attachments

• lathe.jpg
    lathe.jpg
    137 KB · Views: 523
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dbledsoe

Unless there is a bunch of tooling included, it would not be a good one for me at anything near that price. I don't like the drive arrangement and the headstock looks like it may be MT1. I think you can do better for that amount of money.

sleevecc

Unless there is a bunch of tooling included, it would not be a good one for me at anything near that price. I don't like the drive arrangement and the headstock looks like it may be MT1. I think you can do better for that amount of money.

What do you mean by I don't like the drive arrangement and the headstock looks like it may be MT1???? newbie here... lol

dbledsoe

MT refers to the taper on the inside of the headstock and tailstock sleeve. MT1 mean Morse Taper size 1, MT2 means Morse Taper size 2. MT2 tooling is easier to find since more people use it.
I don't like all those belts flapping around the end of the machine. You can have a really big motor that way, but you don't need it for making pens and it just looks dangerous the way it's set up. May be if you raise the motor up closer to the lathe and put a guard over the belts and pulleys it might be ok.

Dan Masshardt