Rikon 70-100 replaces HF Mini

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

csr67

Being a complete newbie to this sickness, I started out with a $100 HF variable speed mini lathe.

395aa4e9fb64aca0e265ba26776e2181.jpg

After getting hooked on pen turning, I realized the mini was going to hold me back. The tail stock had too much play, and the motor would often stall when drilling blanks. Having to source MT#1 parts also bothered me.

Harbor Freight nicely gave me a full refund with no issues after I'd used the lathe for 6 weeks. After reading lots of reviews here and elsewhere, I picked up a Rikon 70-100 for $399 from Woodcraft yesterday.

c2754bb455ab286b65a404b3fafb14fb.jpg

What an improvement. 5 minutes out of the box and I had this lathe up and running. The alignment was spot on and it's so much more powerful. For $399 I'm very, very happy with this upgrade. Changing belts is very simple and the entire unit is solid and well built.

Anyone need a MT1 drill chuck or mandrel saver? I won't need them any longer!

I turned my first pen on the Rikon today, a nice Bloodwood bolt action, and it came out great.

8b0ade48cc28c5e7445ac5d799c3dc1c.jpg

Thank you everyone for your help and tips!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Looks like you made the right decision ! I love the pen and I said so in your other thread.

CHEERS to HF are appropriate for refunding you on your first lathe, don't you think ?!! :) :)

LeeR

I've had the 70-100 for almost 5 years. It is a great little lathe. I've thought about adding the variable speed kit but frankly, belt changes are really easy.

Not long after I bought it, I added the bed extension. Drilling holes in tool handles, turning peppermills, etc. -- the extension was a "must".

I'm sure you'll find the lathe to be a real jewel, like I have.

ripjack13