planers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chuckw3

Good day folks

I am planning on purchasing a 13" planer and need some input.

My choices are:

1) DeWalt DW- DW745

2) General 30005SHCMT (Helical Head)

The price isn't a factor as both are on sale and after getting ,stand, wings etc.

they will be within a few dollars of each other.

Thanks for now
Chuck

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Lenny

I think you meant the DeWalt DW- DW735

What are the replacement blade costs? Availability? Ease of blade changes?
Knowing that "might" weigh in the favor of one over the other?

I have used the Dewalt (limited use) and it seems to be a very good for a portable unit. I have no experience with the General.

penhead

Local Chapter Leader
Don't know if it helps you decide or not, but I have had a DW735 for a number of years now, put lots of board feet of lumber through it, and it still responds flawlessly..

paintspill

i know its not one of your options but i have the 13" rigid and have been very happy with it. and if i remember correctly from my shopping i think it was in the same price range. and was suprised to find it came with an extra set of blades.

chuckw3

I think you meant the DeWalt DW- DW735

What are the replacement blade costs? Availability? Ease of blade changes?
Knowing that "might" weigh in the favor of one over the other?

I have used the Dewalt (limited use) and it seems to be a very good for a portable unit. I have no experience with the General.

Lenny
yes should have been DW735, good questions on the blade changing The General being a helical cutting head has 26 inserts so I would guess be longer to change. I haven't got a fix on the blade cost yet.

Do you get a better cut with the helical or three blade?
Chuck

Lenny

Do you get a better cut with the helical or three blade?
Chuck