UK Newbie, now from Thailand

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dontheturner

I have been woodturning since 1954, and about eight years ago, started doing pens, then in 2007, I married a Thai beauty -, and shipped everything I owned, to Ubonratchathani, here in Thailand. Unfortunately, supplies are hard to come by, so everything I need, I have to get through the internet - mostly Ebay. oddly, the Bangkok Bank, will not deal with Paypal, so that is another stumbling block! - but there is loads of very good fancy hardwood here,... I tried buying some things from a Company called ''Steebar'', in USA, but although, they accepted my Visa card number, and thanked me for my order, the goods never came, nor did they reply to my many emails. Still, mai pen rai ( never mind) as the say here. Happy turning! dontheturner

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
Welcome Don. I have been to Thailand (mostly Chiang Mai but Bangkok and Pattaya also) a number of times from Japan. Love it there.

First, a warning - stay away from Steebar. You may and may not get your order and if you do, it may and may not be up to what you were expecting. That name has been discussed m a n y times here. I personally think you will find much nicer wood where you are.

I know that you have been turning for a LONG time but I will include links to some of the basics that we formulated here to get people on the same page or up to speed. The first one is a very basic overview of the many aspects of getting into turning pens.
http://www.penturners.org/forum/showthread.php?t=42446

The second link has postings by different pen turners and what they wish they had known earlier:
http://www.penturners.org/forum/showthread.php?t=46654

Here is another link - a PDF on the acronyms used here. While confusing to new turners, it sure helps abbreviate a lot of repetitive typing.

http://content.penturners.org/articles/2009/Acronyms.pdf

Last edited:

JJturns