turn fly reel seat inserts, now into pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

knowltoh

Good Morning,

I have been turning reel seat inserts for a few years now and have decided to try some pens. I'm hooked! I guess I just love to work with the lathe.

The problem with reel seats, is that that I have built fly rods for sons, daughters, grand kids. siblings, etc. Now I turn the inserts without any real need for more. I have sold some on Ebay and will continue to do so, however I basically just recover the cost of the hardware. I also have some rod builders that get their inserts dirrectly from me.

I am not trying to make a living off of this---it is just a wonderful hobby that I truly enjoy. I would like to market a few. I live in northern Michigan about 250 miles north of Detroit. Winters are long and cold!!

Hopefully I will converse with many of you. This seems like a wonderful resource.

That being said, where would you recommend purchasing kits? I have a few lifetimes worth of wood--much from the local area as well as many of the exotics that I use for inserts. My greatest need will be for the hardware.

Hope you all have a wonderful day.

Herb

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gerryr

Welcome to the IAP. I got started much the same way; bought the lathe to turn fly rod grips and reel seat inserts. Pens are a lot more addictive.

Hosspen

Welcome Herb!
If there's no group-buy going on for what you need at the time here are some companies many of deal with for kits:
Arizona Silhouette, Berea Hardwoods, Beartooth Woods, Craft Supplies USA,Penn State Industries, WoodCraft, Woodturningz, Woodnwhimsies.
Who am I forgetting guys? please chime in.

Once you learn more about the different type kits and decide on your favorites you may want to swap some wood for kits with other members since you have more wood than lifetimes?