Perhaps an into is necessary...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dhop1218

Hello, from Glasgow, Scotland!

I have been lurking for a few months now gathering tips and tricks!
Thank you to those who have shared valuable information with us newbies!
I am a Engineer / Product Designer / Photographer by trade. Although I am currently back at college and not employed.

When I saw the birthday bash contest I thought it would be a good opportunity to push myself to actually finish a pen! It had become a bit of a routine to make half a pen body and then leave it in bits because it wasn't as good as I had wanted!

I am truly delighted with the results. It has given me the confidence needed to push on and make more pens! Perhaps I will dig through the graveyard of pen bits and make some finished pieces now.

Duncan

Attachments

• 003.jpg
    003.jpg
    82.1 KB · Views: 179
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BobGast

Hi Duncan! Nice pen, nice photography. I haven't read any books on photography but I do lapidary work (rocks), I've always been told to use a white background, but the funny thing is, my work shows up best with a dark background. But I use my cell phone to take pictures.

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
Hi Duncan. A warm welcome from a chilly North Wales. Like I've already said, that is a stunning pen. You mentioned aluminium in the contest, where about on the pen is it?

Dhop1218

BobGast - I did try a white background for the same reasons as you mention, but for some reason the camera lost all definition of the colours in the grain! There is also a some sort of subconscious connection between a black background and a luxury product!