Newish turner in Dallas

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

indytruks138

Hey everyone. I am a hobby woodworker who got into turning pens at the end of 2017. I went crazy and bought a bunch of exotic/spalted blanks off ebay, didn't know about stabilization, and gave up pens after about 8 blanks blew up while drilling or turning.
I just started turning again a few weeks ago and have the bug again. I got all those blanks stabilized and they are turning beautifully.
I currently do my turning at Dallas Makerspace but I'm looking into getting my own midi lathe soon. I'm leaning towards the TurnCrafter 12" variable speed from PSI. Anyone have any pro's/con's for that lathe?
I look forward to chatting with and learning from the community.
I know my pen photography needs some work lol.

Attachments

• Spalted maple pen.jpg
    Spalted maple pen.jpg
    378.3 KB · Views: 107
  • spalter maple pen open.jpg
    spalter maple pen open.jpg
    430.9 KB · Views: 92
  • pen variety1.jpg
    pen variety1.jpg
    499.2 KB · Views: 125
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
Welcome Ryan to IAP. Join in the fun here.

Blanks do blow out on occasion but if several in a row, it usually means drilling too fast or the blank need to be reinforced before turning.

The thinner the wall, the more likely it will blow out under normal circumstances.

You can drill a hole through a 2x4 without a problem because there is a lot of "meat" to hold the wood together while drilling. But thin wood - the integrity of the wood is but an eighth of an inch. It is gonna blow. Stabilized blanks do better. Still, with delicate blanks, put them in a blank vise or turn them on the lathe.

Some great information here in our library: Library Index - International Association of Penturners

Also, look here for some people in the Dallas area to maybe help you with questions:
http://www.penturners.org/forum/membermap.php

Last edited:

indytruks138

Welcome from the Houston area, Ryan.