newbie wsants to make pens for 10 grandkids in June

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tomcoleman1

Greetings from Florida

My son recently returned my Delta 46-700 variable speed lathe and a set of Sorby turning tools that I loaned him 35 years ago to make salad bowls while he was in USAF in upstate NY. I'm still using the salad bowl and took possession of the lathe a week ago. A local expert turner is sharpening the Sorby tools tmw and will give me some basic lathe training. The lathe my son returned was newly purchased and I have zero experience. I will take the lathe to my summer cabin in Maine next month. Enroute we will have a 5 family gathering at a large house on a lake in SC. All of my grandkids ages 8-15 will be there. My son who made the salad bowl will also be there as local lathe expert based on 1 project he did 35 years ago.

I would like to turn pens for 10 grandkids next month. I know I have to buy pen kits, mandrel, bushings and what else? I will bring my Worksharp 3000 to Maine this trip but will have few other tools available while in SC. I can also bring a light duty vise or small bar clamps for press fitting pens if that will work.

I have been looking for pre-drilled pen blanks on the web, some of them have tubes already inserted. Ideally I can source blanks that have tubes already inserted and ends squared so that all we have to do is mount them on mandrel and shave down to desired thickness. Best solution would be easy to turn material requiring very simple finishing.........perhaps oil and wax finish while still on lathe...........or would acrylic be easier?