Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ryankelley

Just wanted say hello, I have been turning for 3 years now mainly bowls now I am going to start on pens. Just ordered the starter kit from PSI. I have been reading and watching videos about turning pens, are there any secrets or little tricks to the trade that I should watch out for? Will the 7mm mandrel allow me to turn larger kits or do I need another mandrel? It was the only one PSI had to offer. What do I need to prepare some spalted wood I have? Sorry about all the questions, just anxious. Anyone form Chicago?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

markgum

the only secret.... watch how fast the money flies out for cool looking wood.. :eek:
the 7mm mandrel will turn most kits.
to work with spalted wood, make sure you have some type of breathing protection. At least a dust filter mast. Since spalt is mold, you don't want to be breathing in the spores. When I turn spalted wood, I use thin CA to stablize it first. just to make it a little more sturdy.
welcome to the group.

leehljp

Member Liaison
Welcome Ryan.

Below are links to a different method of turning blanks - without mandrels, (Mandrel-less method) John (PenTurnerJohn) who just went to the method asked why we don't recommend it to all beginners, since it is more simple and more accurate with less problems. So, I am recommending it from the beginning. On the first link, read all the way through page 1 and page 2. It answers many questions:

http://www.penturners.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7319

The next two links show the mandrel-less set-up. Use it initially with bushings and then take the bushings off, replace on the lathe, sand to size (measure with calipers) and apply the finish.

http://www.penturners.org/forum/showthread.php?t=38361&highlight=skogger
. . . Look down to the second and following picts to see the mandrel-less set up for turning to size.

http://www.penturners.org/photos/images/940/1_Dead_drive_1.jpg