Intro forums never have interesting thread titles

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Zirnike

Hello, all. My name's Dave, although I respond to Zirnike* or Z (Zee, not zed :) just as well. Imagine yelling 'mom!' in a Chuck-e-cheeses to explain why I do that. :)

Those of you who were at the West Springfield, MA Woodcraft gathering today will know me as the really big guy with the Marvin the Martian t-shirt.

I've been lurking on and off for a while now. Now that I've met a few of you, I decided to stop lurking and start subjecting you to long, highly tangental posts about things you didn't care about. Err, I mean, learn stuff from all of you. :)

I'm a mechanical engineer by trade, although I'm a lot more 'geeky' then your average engineer. My sense of humor is a bit weird - while it started as a joke, my friends sometimes call me the pun-isher. I was always interested in user interfaces, the 'look' of equipment, and similar design elements, which meshed nicely with designing profiles for cool looking - and user focused - pens. Penturning started to interest me for reasons I actually don't remember anymore, and I've gotten fairly good at the basics of it. I get ambitious in bottle stoppers, oil wand kalidoscopes, and some segmented bowls, but haven't done anything too odd in pens yet.

Well, enough random information. Good to meet all of you at the meeting, and I'm looking forward to meeting the rest of you, even if only in an online sense.

* Zir, like Sir, nI, like Bill Nye, and kE, like key.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

woodworker

Welcome from South Florida, Marvin!:biggrin: I don't get out much so I haven't seen you or your tee shirt but your writing style is most entertaining. Hope we hear from you regularly.

altaciii

Great you have on board. I lurked for a long time on the fringe, just reading and learning until I finally got the knots to jump in and join. Welcome.

Last edited:

MikeInMo