I'm a newbie and I may have just broke my lathe!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

overrocking

Okay long story short ... I've been looking a starting a new hobby building stuff with my hands out of wood for gifts but I don't have the room or the funds for a full shop.

So I thought about turning ... pens, bowls, toys... whatever as long as it was wood cheep and it gave me a escape I'm open to anything ...

I found a used Ryobi Mini 18 for a song at a garage sale so I picked it up and grabbed some pine from the scrap bin at the school I teach.

Picked up a set of chisels from Harbor Freight (I know I need better ones but hey they'd work for learning)

Yep they sucked until I found the old bench grinder I had in the basement and they sharpened up quite nicely ...

Practiced rounding a few 2x2's into a tapered spindle and one into a wand for my son with 3 beads and 3 coves ... like I said I'm just practicing I need a few more tools before I can do pens (a good Saw and drill press) ...

So I went for bigger and grabbed a hunk of 4x4 I had for carving ... rounded it nicely and had carved out the basic shape of a rattle (I'll look up the safty of pine it it turns out to decide if I'll give it away at a baby shower at the end of summer.

Everything is going great a few catches but no problem and then the lathe just stops!

I notice the blown fuse on the font of the lathe ... with the words "reset" printed on it ... It's been 10 min and it still won't reset ...

I have been lurking around here for a week or so researching before I ask a few other questions I have but I guess this popped up first!

The first few things I have turned have been a blast I hope this lathe isn't busted as I don't have the funds to by a good one.

Thanks for any help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mbroberg

IAP Activities Manager, Emeritus