Howdy from central NY

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ned B

Hi folks,
firstpen-1.jpg

Just 'found' this site last night, so I thought I'd sign up. I'm a newbie when it comes to the world of spinny things. Just picked up a Delta midi lathe this spring, and only recently got it into action. Buddy of mine graciously taught me how to set up and turn a pen recently, and that's his Jet that I'm turning on in the photo above, plus in my avatar.
I had the great fortune to visit Bill Grumbine's shop lasts fall and try out his Robust...
roughing.jpg

yeah, that's not a pen, but hey, it was perhaps the third time I ever put tool to wood on a lathe. Yep, I'm hooked... want a Robust someday... when I hit the Lottery!:rotfl:

Here's the pen I was working on at Don's shop
firstpen.jpg

Mahagony slimline with basic gold kit from Woodcraft.

and another I did the same day

spaltedpen.jpg

Spalted Maple on that one.

Looking forward to seeing what folks are turning here, picking up some tips and sharing the fun!

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimB

Hi Ned - welcome from a fellow New Yorker. I'm over in the Rochester area. There aren't many upstate New Yorkers on here but there are 1 or 2 more. I travel all of upstate (Buffalo, Syracuse, Albany, watertown, Plattsburgh, Ithaca) for work. Maybe we will cross paths at some time.

Ned B

Jim,
fellow road warrior here... but I'll keep the coffee pot on at the shop!

I'm in amsterdam at the moment, mobile office...
vanhome1-1.jpg
keeps the weather off of my laptop and camera...
Drop me a line when you'll be in sillycuse area and we'll set up a time to get together.

W Henrietta isn't that far, who knows I might head west one of these days too!

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
Ned, welcome to our group, and let me be the first to admit that I am totally envious that you had the class with Bill Bumbine!!

That is something I want to do one of these days, but haven't been able to just yet.

Ned B