Hi From St. Louis (The Lou)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

mattgatten

Hello there. I've been registered for a couple of weeks now and just lurking about. I got into turning about 3.5 weeks ago and have been trying my hand at various things. Just last week I walked into a Woodcraft and said, give me everything I need to turn pens on my lathe. Well, 150 bucks later, I walked out with a mandrel, some slimline kits, pen mill kit, bits, extra tubes, etc. I already had the wood and CA and polishing stuff. Needless to say, I made 3 pens this weekend (and a bowl). Fell in love with making the pens.

Here are some pictures in my flickr.com gallery. Let me know what you think.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/gattenphotography/sets/72157603709287989/

I'm going to have lots of questions. (Be Warned).

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mattgatten

Thanks a bunch. I'm a semi-pro photographer. My main personal work usually involved pictures of my kids and macro floral shots. I love flowers. If you look in my flower sets there are some red roses and yellow roses. Those roses were only about the size of a quarter in diameter. I love the layers in nice tight rosebuds. :)

Thanks again,
Matt

gcurran

From one newbe to another -- welcome. Your first attempts at pens are a lot better than my first attempts, but I am getting better, pen #4 looks like a pen (ha, ha). I have found a great finish technique using CA and plastic polish. I hope that you have as much fun with this hobby as I am. [:)][:)][:)]

mattgatten

Thanks Mater, and the rest.