Hi from New Jersey

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Chasboy1

Hi folks, I'm a former Industrial Arts-Metals teacher including a variety of other disciplines in my 36 years as an Educator.
I'm an obsessive DIY'er and an active member of my Corvette club.
I learned how to operate a wood and metal lathe in high school and never lost the interest. My Dad was a machinist for Norden Bombsight during WW2 which also confirmed my interest in machine work and turning in particular.
A year or so after we bought our first house, in 1971, my father in law saw all the DIY work I was doing and gave me his 1954 Shopsmith Mark V.
I've tried all manner of turning, always a little apprehensive of pen turning because it seemed like such a precise operation that I could not accomplish on a big machine. "Turns" out my worry was not necessary.
For my Corvette and cars I had for years previous, I turned custom shift knobs. A few years ago I discovered 'acrylester' and other acrylic materials suitable for turning and just for the heck of it, I made a number of shift knobs, which I switch out on the Corvette and have made a few for people who have seen them.
Based on the fun I've had making them and researching pen making, I see this as an outlet for my love of turning and creating something useful that others will enjoy. ( Swapping 10 different shift knobs gets a little old after awhile:bashful:)
I just ordered 10 pen kits so I can make pens for my wife and I and our children and grandchildren. Can't wait to get the kits!
I've been a member of one of the Corvette forums since 2011, when I got my first one. If I were to go into all of the things I've learned, and all of the work/projects completed because of the fine people I would bore you silly. Because of this, I'm looking forward to membership in this forum as I join this fascinating hobby!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

OZturner

Welcome Charles, from Sydney Australia.