Hi from LI NY

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rcflyer55

I'm brand new to turning anything, so I decided to start with pens. I have experience working with wood. I have been building RC planes for 30 years, but I've never used a lathe.

My start actually started on YouTube.
They suggest videos to watch and there was one on machining, and the guy was working on a lathe. I watched hours of all types of metalwork videos and was researching a mini lathe. I was all set to buy one when I found a pen turning video. Not knowing I could have done it on a metal mini lathe I ran out and bought a cheap harbor freight (I know I have on my fireproof suit for all the flaming) lathe.

I attached my first attempt at Turing a pen. It's a comfort pen from PSI. I didn't like the rubber grip so I omitted it. The wood is cocobola. I finished it with Doctor's Woodshop Pens Plus. I have used CA for 30 years and try to stay away from it as much as possible because I developed an allergy to it.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    223.1 KB · Views: 112
Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Welcome from Texas.

The Harbor Freight lathes are good starter lathes & lots of folks here have them. My own lathe is an Excelsior from Rockler & it's the exact same lathe as the 10x18 MT2 lathe that Harbor Freight sells with their own name & color. I've had it for almost 3 years now (my how time flies) and it's served my needs just fine so far.

Nice job on that cocobolo pen!

jsolie

Welcome from Southern California! There are a lot of folks here who have one of the HF lathes. Congrats on the pen. I have to take precautions with cocobolo, it's one of those woods that people can develop a fairly serious allergy to.

CREID

Wow, oh I guess I should say "Welcome" (back to the wow now) there are a lot of new posters today.:)

Curt

Rcflyer55