Hi, I've been browsing I guess I should post

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BobGast

I am from Round Lake Beach, Illinois. I have been a Lapidary for about 7 years but I ran across a guy making bowls on Facebook. We struck up a conversation and he said that I should try it. So I went to Harbor Freight and bought their largest wood lathe and tools for some 4 or 5 hundred dollars. Then I discovered that I could turn pens. I was ecstatic as I write almost exclusively with a fountain pen and have for several years. My introduction to pen making is with a pen making kit that came with Rosewood slimline blanks. I have had a couple of mishaps and I am still learning exactly how the slimline is turned with regard to the bushings but I am getting there. I only have two more left and I will have to go on to another kit. My goal obviously is to get to fountain pens but the guy at Penn State said that all of their kits leak. So this is an automatic drawback for me. My question is why can't they just get good nibs and feeds instead of sell an inferior product. (I haven't made one yet or even seen the kit so I probably should keep my mouth shut, sorry). Anyway they discouraged me from making fountain pens and also at a CA finish at this early stage. Oh well, I've only used Shellawax on 2 pens. The rest are all CA and acrylic or polyester blanks are next for me. My biggest challenge is learning about the lathe and to quit ruining my sons chop saws by trying to do something that they weren't made to do. Now that I have learned those 2 safety lessons I know that I have to be more patient and keep safety first. You're not supposed to but you can get away without a respirator in Lapidary but not with wood. It's no fun breathing in that stuff. So something for dust collection is very high on the agenda. In the meantime it is a respirator and a lot of cleaning. Sorry that I got so windy here but it's safer for me to just make pens. I would love to upgrade my lathe already but I d