hi all

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

keithkarl2007

Hi everyone. My name is keith. I am new to all of this have just bought a lathe 2 weeks ago and have been picking up bits and pieces as i go along. I've been told this is a very addictive hobby and thats for sure. Seem to be buying stuff all the time. Anyway hope to get to know you all. Oh yeah any advice you could give a newbie would be really appreciated thanks

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
Let me be the first to welcome you Keith. I think we only have one other guy from Ireland. This place is really full of great advice.:D

All the best topics have been saved in the library. So get yourself a pint of Guiness and sit back and read to your hearts content.

Russianwolf

Hi Kieth,
Your name looks familiar. Do you sell wood on ebay? I may have bought some from you if that's where I'm remembering you name from.

Welcome aboard.

keithkarl2007

you may have seen me bidding alright not selling though. what would i have to offer being in ireland[V] i really envy the yanks and ozzies they have great sources of beautiful exotic woods

keithkarl2007

i haven't turned a pen yet but i just can't stop myself from bidding on some nice burled or highly figured blanks. Have to try and control myself. Hope you don't take offence to my slang mean nothing by it sorry[B)]

Russianwolf

kieth, there are those of us who will just about fall over ourselves for some of that nice Irish Bog Oak that you might have laying around. And I love other woods of Irish origin too. Some of the people I've sold to frequent the Irish/Celtic Festivals here in the states.

So don't go discounting what you have in your back yard. Those are exotics to us.[8D]

keithkarl2007

True. The company i work for have a huge beam of bog oak must be 18" x 18" 6ft long and a few nice yew logs. Have to suck up a bit and see if i can get some

GoodTurns

Originally posted by keithkarl2007