Hello from Wisconsin

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Been snooping around in here quite a bit over the last three weeks or so, and figured its about time to jump in the madness. I think I may have been a member in here a decade or more ago, but I cant find any confirmation of that, other than my fading memory of taking part in a group buy of cigar pens, and I don't know anywhere else that would have been but here.
So a little intro..... I'm a welder by trade, a hobbiest woodworker, my main passion being scroll sawing (mainly fretwork), and wood turning. I do recognize a few members here from the scrolling community, and a few I've met at different scrollsaw trade shows/picnics, of which I have attended a bunch of over the years in 8 different states. I haven't been active on the scrollsaw forum at Fox Chapel Publishing in a few years, but I still on occasion do some test cutting for Scrollsaw Woodworking and Crafts magazine.
My turning is pretty basic. A handful of bowls, and candle holders, a few other odds and ends, and I turned a couple hundred pens over the years, mostly wood, but a few acrylics and corians as well. My wife loves turning pens as well. The lathe will sit for a couple months collecting dust, then the turning bug hits us and we fight over the lathe for a while . My current lathe is a Grizzly G1067Z I bought new 15 or more years ago. I don't think they even have that model anymore, but its been a great lathe for me. I am considering adding a second lathe, nothing fancy as cost is a concern for me right now, but I can afford that 1018 Harbor Freight machine. At least with that my wife wont be hogging the only lathe when I want to turn something.
And with me snooping around on here I was shocked and amazed to learn that I am about 15 miles from what Ive read was one of the best places to buy kits and turning supplies, that being Exoticblanks.com. I can see already I will be shopping there quite a bit!!