Hello from Winston-Salem, NC

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

GrampyO

I am fairly new at pen turning (started late August of 2011), however, I have worked with wood working tools since I was in the 7th grade. I probably had an interest well before that but officially in 7th grade is when I began to get my formal education.

I am now 71 years old, semi-retired and with the economy the way it is today, looking for a way to supplement my retirement funds. The wife and I have two boys, one married and one divorced, 4 grandchildren (a boy and girl each from our sons). We have lived in Winston-Salem for the past 36 years, northerners gone south to stay.

My pen turning is below a hundred, but not by much, and I have sold several but mostly to family members. I've also turned salt/pepper grinders, back scratcher, shaving kits and now looking at bottle stoppers.

I just designed a pen body that is almost ready for production that consists of painting the tubes, using a full wrap decal and then casting in clear resin (designed and casted a 6 cavity mold). It's the church's 50th anniversary and is the theme on the pen body.

I am looking forward to hearing from other pen turners as I still haven't scratched the surface of what I need to know to be successful at this game. As I learn more about this site I will try to share my experiences verbally and with pictures.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctubbs